Tom Brown's School Museum

Exterior view of the Museum
Shop icon Study area icon Visual disability facilities icon Wheelchair access icon

Tom Brown's School Museum is housed in a Grade 1 listed building dated 1617. This small unique building was formerly a school room for '12 worthy boys'. Thomas Hughes, the author of Tom Brown's Schooldays was born in the village and the opening chapters of this famous book describes the village and the schoolroom. The museum boasts strong community involvement and has a thriving Friends Organisation.

Venue Type:

Museum, Gallery

Opening hours

Easter Saturday to the last Sunday in October
Sat Sun & Bank Holiday Mon 1400-1700

Admission charges


Additional info

Access to oral tapes and video material through the Museum computer. A touchscreen is available to complement the exhibitions. The Museum holds a large amount of documentation which can be accessed. Copies of correspondence between Sir John Betjeman and others is available in the Museum to be examined for research purposes.

Includes archaeological material from The White Horse Hill and surrounding area.
Reference material relating to Thomas Hughes and a collection of over 130 different editions of Tom Brown's Schooldays.
Reference material relating to Sir John Betjeman who lived in the village.
Local archives including photographs, video material, oral tapes and documentation.

Collection details

Archaeology, Archives, Literature, Social History

Key artists and exhibits

  • Thomas Hughes
  • Tom Brown's Schooldays
  • John Betjeman
  • The White Horse
  • Uffington White Horse

Tom Brown's School Museum
Broad Street



All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.