Muthill Museum

On the left as you enter the village of Muthill is Sundial Cottage (opposite the Village Tearoom) a typical dwelling house of the period. Inset high on the front wall is the sundial itself, dated 1746, the same year as the Battle of Culloden. Down at the end of this street, on the left just past the graveyard, is the small but delightful Muthill Museum.

The museum contains many interesting artefacts, giving an insight into the life of the village in times past.

Venue Type:


Opening hours

The Museum is open June to September, Wed, Sat and Sun afternoons from 12.20pm until 3pm.

Admission charges

Please check.

Amongst the many fascinating exhibits, have a look downstairs at the wooden brose bowl and horn spoon which was given to the twelve year old William Ross by his parents in 1869 when he left home to work on a farm. Close by is another ubiquitous cooking utensil of the times; a porridge spirtle which has very obviously seen a lifetime of stirring the old national dish.

Collection details

Social History

Muthill Museum
Station Road


All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.