The Old House is a wonderfully-preserved example of a Jacobean half-timbered building – a startling sight in the middle of a modern shopping precinct in the heart of Hereford.
Built in 1621 as part of Butchers’ Row, this only remaining house has been has been home to butchers, ironmongers and bankers over the years, but since 1929 has been a fascinating museum giving an insight into daily life in Jacobean times.
It is furnished in period style and there are interesting pieces in every room. Of particular interest are the wall paintings, beds and baby walkers. There are hands-on activities for children including replica clothing and puzzles.
Historic house or home, Architecture centre, Museum
Tues-Friday 1000-1700, Sat 1000-1600
Sun 1000-1600 from April to the end of September
Bank Holiday Mondays 1000-1600
New Year's Day
A virtual tour is available on the accessible ground floor for those unable to reach the upper floors. A project to provide audio and tactile images is currently underway.
The house is set up as it may have looked in its early history with period furniture and artefacts. The ground floor houses the kitchen and a hall, with a dining area on the first floor and the bedrooms on the top floor.
Architecture, Decorative and Applied Art, Fine Art, Social History
Key artists and exhibits
- Of particular note are the wall paintings and the fine court cupboards. There are several good examples of cradles and two early and interesting baby walkers. The master bed and fire backs are also of considerable interest.
Mr and Mrs Jones at the Old House
- 27 — 29 October 2016
Mr and Mrs Jones will welcome you to their home. The butcher and his wife are the first recorded occupants of the Old House and love to tell tales of their life in Butchers row in Hereford in the seventeenth century a time of great change and civil unrest.
- Any age
Click on Leisure and then Museums