01926 412 500
01926 419 840
Built in 1670, it originally contained arches on all four walls (later converted to windows), to provide under-cover space for stalls.
In the 19th century, the archways were railed off, and the space was used for stocks. These were on wheels, and the offender had to pull them into the railed area before being locked into them.
The stocks were used as punishment for drunkenness as late as 1872.
The building is now a branch of Warwick County Museum, concentrating upon the history, natural history, archaeology and social history of Warwick and the surrounding area.
It also houses the World famous Sheldon Tapestry Map of Warwickshire, produced in tiny rural Barcheston.
Market Hall has a small shop which offers a range of gifts to suit all ages. The nearest public toilets are located in the Market Square and there are many nice cafes and tea rooms within a very close distance of the museum.
10.00am - 5.00pm Tuesdays - Saturdays and
Bank Holiday Mondays (all year round)
11.30am - 5.00pm Sundays (April - September only)
Archaeology, Coins and Medals, Natural Sciences
Key artists and exhibits
- Sheldon Tapestry