Purbeck Stone Museum
St. George's Close
01929 423 168
Purbeck Limestone has been used from Roman times to the present day for walls, roofs and floors of buildings, from humble homes to great cathedrals. Its history is displayed here in a former Coach House, which with the Village itself, is a living illustration of the uses of stone. The Museum provides a complete picture of the ways in which the local stone was quarried and used.
A free audio-visual introduction to the history of the local stone industry (which lasts 20 minutes) helps visitors to understand and appreciate the items on display, giving an explanation of the unique geology of Purbeck with fascinating examples of the various 'beds' of stone. There are displays of apprentice pieces; a large collection of stonemasons' tools; samples of masons' craftsmanship; many photographs from the past; an authentic reconstruction of a section of underground quarry working; and a rebuilt quarry capstan.
Mon-Sat 1000-1200 & 1400-1600
6 October-30 March by appt
Archaeology, Archives, Costume and Textiles, Fine Art, Natural Sciences, Music, Weapons and War, Coins and Medals, Personalities, Science and Technology, Social History