Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge

Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge
baby changing facilities icon Shop icon Hearing disability facilities icon Visual disability facilities icon Wheelchair access icon

Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge is a unique timber-framed Tudor hunt standing built by Henry VIII in 1543. It has magnificent views of Epping Forest from its upper floors and permanent displays in its Tudor kitchen. Other displays include information on Tudor costumes, timber-framing and the history of Epping Forest.

Venue Type:

Museum, Historic house or home

Opening hours

Open Tuesday to Sunday 10am - 5pm. Open Bank Holidays (except Christmas Day). Opening subject to school parties and wedding bookings - please telephone to check.

Admission charges


Collection details

Archaeology, Archives, Fine Art, Natural Sciences, Personalities, Social History

Exhibition details are listed below, you may need to scroll down to see them all.

Exhibition by Tom Rose: Hunting the King’s deer

  • 24 February — 25 March 2018 *on now

Forest Law protected deer for the benefit of the Crown, but not only the King (or Queen) enjoyed the hunt and valued the opportunity for hospitality and favour that hunting offered. Forests were royal playgrounds in which the feuds of the gentry and aristocracy were played out and deer were poached by the rich and powerful as well as the less well-off. Discover more about what really went on in Epping Forest in the early modern period.

Suitable for

  • Family friendly


Free event - no booking required.

Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge
Rangers Road
Greater London
E4 7QH






Telephone during opening hours

020 8529 6681

Answerphone/school groups enquiries

020 8529 7090

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.