Wisbech and Fenland Museum

Wisbech and Fenland Museum
Museum Square
PE13 1ES

logo: Heritage Open Days 2014






01945 583817


01945 589050

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.
baby changing facilities icon Shop icon Library icon Study area icon Wheelchair access icon

Wisbech & Fenland Museum is one of the oldest purpose-built museums in the country. The original Museum Society was formed in 1835, and the present building dates from 1847. The well-preserved Museum interior enables visitors to step back in time to the heyday of the Victorian museum.

The Hudson Wing addition offers a more contemporary interpretation of the Fenland landscape and history - in addition to an up-to-the-minute temporary exhibition area and full education facilities. Disabled access to all main Museum areas is available via the side entrance and lift.

Venue Type:

Archive, Library, Museum

Opening hours

Tue-Sat 1000-1600

Thomas Clarkson and the Transatlantic Slave Trade: Wisbech is the home town of slavery abolitionist Thomas Clarkson and the Museum holds documents, letters, books and artefacts relating to his work. The most important of these is his chest which contains examples of 18th century African textiles, seeds and leatherwork. These were used to illustrate his case for direct trade with Africa. The chest also contained chains and manacles which give an insight into the appalling treatment of the enslaved Africans.

Collection details

Archaeology, Archives, Coins and Medals, Costume and Textiles, Decorative and Applied Art, Fine Art, Land Transport, Maritime, Medicine, Music, Personalities, Science and Technology, Social History

Exhibition details are listed below, you may need to scroll down to see them all.

Heritage Open Days 2014: Wisbech & Fenland Museum

  • 13 — 14 September 2014

Wisbech & Fenland Museum is one of the oldest museums in the United Kingdom. It is very unusual because it is not only a museum, but also home to two historic libraries and a substantial archive, holding diocesan and borough items. The collections were initiated by the town's Literary and Museum Societies which were formed in 1781 and 1835 respectively. Since the Museum opened in 1847, the collections have continued to grow, but the essence of the Museum remains virtually unchanged. So come and discover a treasure house of rare and unusual artefacts, illuminating history, both local and worldwide, recent and ancient.

Saturday and Sunday - exhibition and demonstration from 98 Lace Group


Please refer to the Heritage Open Days website for booking details and timings.