Charles Dickens Museum
The Charles Dickens Museum
48 Doughty Street
020 7405 2127
020 7831 5175
The only surviving London home of Charles Dickens. Here, between 1837 and 1839, Dickens completed famous works such as The Pickwick Papers, Oliver Twist and Nicholas Nickleby.
The museum, set in an early Georgian house, was first opened in 1925 by the Dickens Fellowship, who still use it as their headquarters today. The Museum also has a garden cafe / tea room serving a range of sweet treats and savoury lunches.
The Charles Dickens Museum at 48 Doughty Street, re-opens on 10 December in time to celebrate a Dickensian Christmas.
The museum has been transformed and expanded in a £3.1 million restoration project, supported with substantial funding from Heritage Lottery Fund, and now features original Victorian furniture and fittings, newly opened attics and kitchens, and a brand new education centre at neighbouring 49 Doughty Street.
Visitors to the museum will be taken on a unique journey back in time as they explore and discover Dickens’s life through richly recreated rooms and intimate displays of his personal belongings, paintings and his writing.
Last admission 16.30
Children under 12 free
- Museums Association
The collection ranges from paintings by well-known Victorian artists such as Maclise and Frith to manuscripts, personal items, memorabilia and reconstructed rooms.
Archives, Decorative and Applied Art, Fine Art, Literature, Personalities
Key artists and exhibits
- Perhaps the most well-known exhibit is the portrait of Dickens by R.W. Buss (an original illustrator of Pickwick) 'Dickens's Dream' showing the author in his study at Gads Hill Place surrounded by creatures of his imagination.