Low Parks Museum
Low Parks Museum is housed in beautiful and historically significant buildings which were once part of the Duke of Hamiton's estate. The 18th century Assembly Room, with its original plasterwork and musician's gallery, forms a striking centrepiece to the buildings. Displays tell the story of the communities of South Lanarkshire and how they were shaped by the development of industry and housing. There is also a display on the history of The Cameronians (Scottish Rifles)regiment, which was raised in South Lanarkshire and, until its disbandment in 1968, held a proud place as Scotland's only rifle regiment. Two large galleries also house a changing programme of temporary exhibitions, ensuring that there is always something new to see.
Mon - Sat 10.00am - 5.00pm
Sun - 12.00pm - 5.00pm
Closed: 25th and 26th December and 1st and 2nd January.
Admission is free.
Primary and Secondary school education service and handling sessions must be booked in advance.
Access to museum library is by appointment only.
Archaeology, Archives, Costume and Textiles, Decorative and Applied Art, Fine Art, Land Transport, Natural Sciences, Personalities, Science and Technology, Social History, Weapons and War, World Cultures
The Battle of the Somme
- 28 July 2016 From 11am, From 1:30pm
- 4 August 2016 From 11am, From 1:30pm
- 20 October 2016 From 11am, From 1:30pm
- 10 November 2016 From 11am, From 1:30pm
Shot in 1916, this silent film was seen by an estimated 20 million people across Britain and Ireland. Now digitally restored and under the ownership of the Imperial War Museum, join us for a free screening of this iconic film.
Kit 'n' Kaboodle
How to obtain
If you are interested in borrowing a loans kit, please contact Joyce Brown on 01698 452704 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
Kit 'n Kaboodle loans kits are offered free of charge.
Low Parks Museum
129 Muir Street