Regimental Museum of The Queen's Own Highlanders

Regimental Museum of The Queen's Own Highlanders
Regimental Headquarters
The Highlanders
Cameron Barracks



01463 224380


01463 224 380

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.
Food icon Shop icon Library icon Study area icon Wheelchair access icon

The museum is currently closed for major refurbishment with re-opening estimated at Easter 2013. The Regimentalental Museum Collection of the Queen's Own Highlanders is the private collection of a regiment with over 200 years association with Fort George. The Museum comprises a unique collection of medals, uniforms and accoutrements,weapons, paintings and prints, colours and pipe banners, mess plate, ceramics, and other artefacts covering the history of the regiment back to 1778. The Museum also has a comprehensive library and archive collection to which researchers are welcome, and this includes original sources and published material on Fort George.

Venue Type:


Opening hours

1 April-30 September
Mon-Sat 1000-1800
Sun 1400-1800
1 October-31 March
Mon-Fri 1000-1600
Open Bank holidays except Christmas period

Admission charges


Collection details

Archives, Weapons and War, Costume and Textiles, Decorative and Applied Art, Fine Art, Music, Coins and Medals