Meffan Museum & Art Gallery
20 West High Street
Situated in the heart of Forfar’s historic town centre is “The Meffan” built in 1898 as a bequest from the daughter of Provost Meffan. Originally Forfar’s library and museum, the building is now a lively art gallery and museum.
The building is much loved by the community with many clubs and societies meeting here. Two galleries are devoted to Art exhibitions. Every month new art exhibitions are staged and these ever changing exhibitions bring to Forfar the work of a range of contemporary Scottish artists.
Another two galleries explore “The Forfar Story” from the time of Pictish artistic endeavour. A stunning collection of Pictish Stones are displayed to best advantage so both front and rear of these enigmatic sculptured stones can be closely examined. An interactive screen guides the visitor through every Pictish stone found in Angus. Models of two archaeologists are seen excavating a log canoe dated to the 11th century.
The visitor can next wander through time down an old narrow cobbled street called The Vennel. They can peer into a knockmaker’s workshop (clocks), see linen being woven by a weaver, drool over bread, and of course, bridies at the bakers; the shoemaker is busy mending and making boots and shoes. The last shop on the street is Peter Reid’s sweetie shop with it’s famed Forfar Rock. Finally the visitor steps into a crowd staring in awe and horror at a witch about to be strangled and burnt. Forfar had a dark period in its history where several women were accused of witchcraft.
Closed: Christmas Day,Boxing Day; 1st/2nd January
No admission charge
Archaeology, Coins and Medals, Costume and Textiles, Decorative and Applied Art, Fine Art, Land Transport, Personalities, Science and Technology, Social History