Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers Regimental Museum
The Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers Regimental Museum
Enniskillen Castle is the splendid location of The Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers Regimental Museum. The Castle - once the medieval stronghold of the Maguires - is located on the banks of the picturesque River Erne and presents an array of 19th Century barrack buildings surrounding the Keep. To the south with it distinctive turrets is the 17th Century Watergate and to the east the Heritage Centre. The Regimental Museum is housed in the Castle Keep and has displays which span the history of the Regiment from its formation in 1689 up to modern times.
Mon & Sat 1400-1700
July-August Mon, Sat & Sun 1400-1700 Tues - Fri 1000-1700 Oct - Apr Mon 1400-1700, Tues - Fri 1000-1700
The Collections trace the history of the regiment from its formation in 1689 to amalgamation in 1968. It is illustrated by a large and well laid out collection of uniforms, weapons, medals, photographs, silver, standards, badges and other regimental memorabilia. A library containing war diaries and archival material is available for research purposes by appointment. Each important part of the Regiment's history is well covered by the collections.
Archaeology, Archives, Coins and Medals, Costume and Textiles, Decorative and Applied Art, Fine Art, Land Transport, Music, Natural Sciences, Personalities, Social History, Weapons and War
Key artists and exhibits
- History of the Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers Regiment