After literally tearing the roof off to accommodate a lift and embarking on a year-long, £1 million campaign which even saw ancient toilet blocks replaced by a room named after the 1903 founders, a new era at the shiny Hertford Museum has begun.
The popular historic collection from the Anglo-Saxon area's past closed on Boxing Day 2008, with volunteers and staff playing an instrumental role in a building project initiated in March last year.
Visitors survey the new-look interior of the space
Among Penny Farthing and Boneshaker bikes, the revamped centre features a new upper floor, ground floor resource room and learning space and the introduction of a three-year, full-time Learning Officer to continue the Museum’s imaginative community work, which has toured artefacts in a range of playful sessions during the renovations.
An expanded upper floor and new access facilities complement the established intriguing displays
Despite being hampered by the winter weather, escalating costs and a challenging selection of electrical and mechanical dilemmas, Curator Helen Murney and her team arguably finished the hardest part of their mission when they secured a £985,000 grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund in November 2007, aimed at making the venue a landmark space for the wider region.
A "Cabinet of Curiosities" is among the treats on offer
Their picturesque Jacobean Knot garden has remained unaltered, joined by touch screen kiosks, digital facilities, interactive exhibits and an opening temporary exhibition of Henry Moore's Sheep (until June 5).
The Museum first opened in 1903