Ten artists you should be collecting now: Axis picks its up and coming talents

| 12 November 2013

The online directory for artists, Axis, has selected ten artists to watch and invest in. Scroll down for ten contemporary emerging UK artists from their directory...

Kathy Dalwood - www.axisweb.org/p/kathydalwood

a ceramic head of a woman with a jet fighter aeroplane balanced on it
Kathy Dalwood, Tomcat, 2013. "We love Kathy Dalwood’s contemporary take on the historical portrait bust. This is portraiture with a surreal twist."© Kathy Dalwood
Jonathan Gabb - www.axisweb.org/p/jonathangabb

a photo of a group of gracefully aligned dyed cords hanging from the ceiling
Jonathan Gabb, Reverse Sequence, 2013. "Jonathan Gabb creates complex and dazzling installations that push the physical properties of paint to the limits."© Jonathan Gabb
Mella Shaw www.axisweb.org/p/mellashaw

a photo of two sculptures made from interconnecting wooden blocks
Mella Shaw, Bridges (Grey and Yellow), 2013. "Mella Shaw was selected from our MAstars programme from this year’s MA Ceramics and Glass at the Royal College of Arts for her beautifully balanced architectural forms."© Mella Shaw
Susie Green - www.axisweb.org/p/susiegreen

a digital projection of a dogtooth check scarf hanging on a wall
Susie Green, Dogtooth Protection Section, 2012. "Is it art? Or fashion? Susie Green’s textile work is both and sits interestingly alongside her performance practice."© Susie Green
Georgie Grace - www.axisweb.org/p/georgiegrace

a photograph of a lake with moutains reflected in its surface as an obelisk 3-D shape hovers centre reflecting its underside against the sky
Georgie Grace, Silent masses hovering above the earth 1, 2013 "Georgie Grace’s beautifully produced giclée prints, exploring form and landscape, have an otherworldly, sci-fi feel."© Georgie Grace
George Charman - www.axisweb.org/p/georgecharman

a photo of a painting of a pink and blue Meccano-like tower structure in an oval mount
George Charman, A Drowned Man, 2010. "From intricate drawings to the most pared-down of constructions, George Charman addresses enduring questions about architecture as an expression of human aspiration."© George Charman
Richard Stone www.axisweb.org/p/richardstone

a photo of an interior with an abstract landscape hung above a fireplace and a sculpture on a plinth
Richard Stone, One last look at England before we go and The memory cape, 2012. "With its classical reference points, Richard Stone’s work at first appears relatively traditional, until you scratch the surface and realise something more apocalyptic is going on."© Richard Stone
Louisa Chambers www.axisweb.org/p/louisachambers

a photo of a large irregular canvas painted in blocks of turquoise, grey, pink, orange, red and blue
Louisa Chambers, Rotating Shape: Side II, 2013. "Louisa Chambers’s exuberant paintings explore the endless possibilities of colour, geometry and pattern."© Louisa Chambers
Hannah Campion - www.axisweb.org/p/hannahcampion

a photo of a three-dimensional form made of blue painted paper
Hannah Campion, Scrunch, 2012. "Hannah Campion creates intricate and delicate three dimensional forms that hover somewhere between the categories of painting and sculpture."© Hannah Campion
Raymond Church - www.axisweb.org/p/raymondchurch

a grecian style urn with classical and urban graffitti-style figures on it
Raymond Church, Inappropriation, 2013. "Raymond Church brings the classical pottery of ancient Greece up-to-date with satirical social commentary and urban imagery."© Raymond Church
What do you think? Leave a comment below.

You might also like:

The best UK art exhibitions to see outside London during autumn 2013

The best art exhibitions to see in London during autumn 2013

Painting Now: Five Contemporary Artists at Tate Britain
Latest comment: >Make a comment
A sense of humour. It's all that'll save us.
>See all comments
    Back to article
    Your comment:
    DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted at www.culture24.org.uk are the opinion of the comment writer, not Culture24. Culture24 reserves the right to withdraw or withhold from publication any comments that are deemed to be hearsay or potentially libellous, or make false or unsubstantiated allegations or are deemed to be spam or unrelated to the article at which they are posted.
    Related listings (2168)
    See all related listings »
    Related resources (1236)
    See all related resources »

    Events

    • 1 mile
    • 2 miles
    • 3 miles
    • 4 miles
    • 5 miles
    • 10 miles
    • 20 miles
    • 50 miles
    • Any time
    • Today
    • This week
    • This month
    • This year

    Culture24 editor's newsletter sign up
    advertisement