The Royal London Museum
Archives and Museum, The Royal London Hospital, St Augustine with St Philip’s Church, Newark Street
020 7377 7608
The Museum is located in the former crypt of a fine, late 19th century, early English style church, designed by Arthur Cawston, which has been extensively restored. The building also accommodates the Library of the School of Medicine and Dentistry at Whitechapel. Visitors wishing to see the main body of the church may do so on weekdays, subject to the approval of the Duty Librarian at the Library reception desk.
The Museum, which has a separate entrance in Newark Street, reopened to the public in 2002 following major refurbishment, supported by grants from the Heritage Lottery Fund and St Bartholomew’s and The Royal London Charitable Foundation.
The Museum has revamped sections on the history of the hospital since its foundation in 1740, Joseph Merrick (the 'Elephant Man'), and former London Hospital nurses Edith Cavell and Eva Luckes. A showcase on forensic medicine features original material on the Whitechapel ('Jack the Ripper'), murders and the London Hospital surgeon and curator, Thomas Horrocks Openshaw who helped to investigate.
It also has a permanent exhibition of artefacts and archives relating to the hospital and the history of healthcare in the East End. Works of art, surgical instruments, medical and nursing equipment, uniforms, medals, and written archives and printed books are included.