The Monument stands at the junction of Monument Street and Fish Street Hill in the City of London. It was built between 1671 and 1677 to commemorate the Great Fire of London (1666) and to celebrate the rebuilding of the City.
As part of the rebuilding, it was decided to erect a permanent memorial near the place where the Great Fire began. Sir Christopher Wren, Surveyor General to King Charles II and the architect of St. Paul's Cathedral, and his friend and colleague Dr Robert Hooke provided a design for a colossal Doric column in the antique tradition. They drew up plans for a column containing a cantilevered stone staircase of 311 steps leading to a viewing platform. This was surmounted by a drum and a copper urn from which flames emerged, symbolising the Great Fire. The Monument is 61 metres high (202 feet) - the exact distance between it and the site in Pudding Lane where the fire began.
The column was initially used as a place for experiments by the Royal Society, later becoming a place of historic interest, providing visitors with views across London in all directions.
Last admission 17.00
The Great Fire Trail
- 15 July — 5 September 2016 *on now
Starting at The Monument, moving to other landmark locations relating to the Great Fire – collect all the clues and complete the anagram to find the missing treasure and claim your prize. With 23 clues hidden across the City, a full trail takes approximately one and a half hours to complete. There is an alternative shortened version of eight clues – perfect for families short on time. Competition entries must be submitted before the closing date of 5 September, the winner will be announced shortly after.
- Any age
Free Talks on the Fire, the history of The Monument and the City
- 29 August — 2 September 2016 *on now
From the alternate design proposals for the iconic column to the flaming copper orb that sits atop the structure, come and learn about the science, history and legacy behind The Monument with a series of free talks taking place in the piazza. Talks take place between 12:00 and 14:00, stories will be told every 30 minutes
- Any age
Free entry to the Monument & extended opening hours
- 2 — 4 September 2016
Limited special edition timed entry tickets have been created and will be required for your visit whilst all visitors can claim their certificate after climbing to the top. Opening times are also extended to 8am – 10pm on these dates, allowing visitors to get the best view in the house of the wider festivities.
- Family friendly
- Especially for children
City of London
0207 626 2717