Hylands House is a fascinating and beautifully restored country house, dating from 1730. Originally built as a modest red brick Queen Anne style house, Hylands House has changed and developed considerably throughout its history. Nine different owners have each stamped their own personality on the house, extending and remodelling according to their tastes and the fashion of the day. In 1966, after the death of the last private owner, Mrs Hanbury, the Council purchased Hylands and immediately opened the park to the public. Following a 20 year programme of restoration to the House and landscape, work was completed in 2007.
Sundays and Mondays 1 April to 30 September 10am to 5pm
Sundays only 1 October to 31 March 10am to 4pm
Accompanied children under 16: Free
Hylands House, Hylands Park, London Road