Dunkeld is a small, picturesque town situated on the banks of the River Tay. The Trust was involved in its restoration in the 1950Ã¢â‚¬â„¢s and 60Ã¢â‚¬â„¢s and still owns 21 buildings including the Ell Shop. Most properties are rented as private accommodation.
The Trust buildings form a significant part of Dunkelds distinctive 18th century townscape
Dunkeld is the centre of a walks network that covers about 30 miles of way-marked paths
An Ell, an old Scottish unit of measurement is affixed to the wall of the Ell House
The town was rebuilt following the Battle of Dunkeld in 1689, the battle was part of the first Jacobite rebellion
The town has been designated an outstanding Conservation Area
The Atholl Memorial fountain built in 1866 in memory of the 6th Duke of Atholl was restored by the Trust completed with running water
Stanley Hill (NTS) is the earliest surviving feature of the historic designed landscape that surrounded the original Dukes of Atholl's Dunkeld House
The Trusts properties are just part of the attraction of Dunkeld, it has a dramatic setting along side the River Tay surrounded by wood covered hills. The Dunkeld Cathedral, Telford Bridge and amazingly diverse range of small shops all add to the experience
The trust land on the banks of the Rivers Tay and Braan provide a beautiful wooded backdrop to Dunkeld
Ell Shop: small step into shops: The public toilet located in the towns North car park includes full disabled facilities.
11 The Cross
Perth & Kinross