The Dog Collar Museum at Leeds Castle

The Dog Collar Museum at Leeds Castle
The Dog Collar Museum
Leeds Castle
Maidstone
Kent
ME17 1PL
England

Website

www.leeds-castle.com/Attractions/The+Dog+Collar+Museum

E-mail

enquiries@leeds-castle.co.uk

Telephone

01622 765400

Fax

01622 735616

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.
Dog Collar Museum, Leeds Castle
Shop icon

A unique collection of historic and fascinating dog collars has been built up over the years and is now the only one of its kind in Great Britain.

Mrs. Gertrude Hunt most generously presented her collection of collars to the Leeds Castle Foundation in memory of her husband, John Hunt, the distinguished medievalist.

The collection of over 100 collars and related exhibits has since been added to and enhanced by the Foundation itself. Spanning five centuries, the collection contains examples of collars from fearsome fetters for the great hunting hounds of the past, to canine couture for 21st century pooches

Venue Type:

Museum

Opening hours

Open all year round. Grounds open from 1000 daily, Castle opens at 1030.
Last admission (April to September) 1630
Last admission (October to March) 1500

We regret no dogs can be admitted except for guide dogs or hearing dogs and that pushchairs are not permitted inside the Castle.

Admission charges

Admission included in general admission for Leeds Castle.

All tickets grant repeat visits for a whole year from the date of issue, with the exception of special ticketed events, you can use your ticket to visit as many times as you like. Small additional charges may apply to activities at some events. Prices are valid until 31st March 2016.

Adults £24.00
Senior Citizens/Students & Visitors with Disabilities £21.00
Children (4-15yrs) £16.00
Infants (under 4yrs) FREE

Additional info

The Dog Collar Museum is fully accessible via the entrance on the right of the Museum. The Museum has notices in Braille beside some replica exhibits which may be handled by visitors. Braille leaflets which give a brief description of the Castle can be borrowed, on request, from staff in the Dog Collar Museum or the Heraldry Room.

Our collection of collars was most generously presented to the Leeds Castle Foundation by Mrs. Gertrude Hunt in memory of her husband, John Hunt, the distinguished medievalist. The collection of over 100 collars and related exhibits has since been added to and enhanced by the Foundation itself. Many of the early, broad iron collars bristling with fearsome spikes dating from the 15th, 16th and 17th centuries were designed to protect the vulnerable throats of hunting dogs against attacks from wolves, bears and wild boar which roamed the dark forests of Europe. Other exhibits display great artistic craftsmanship - the exuberant German and Austrian Baroque leather collars from the 17th and 18th centuries are often decorated with metalwork and velvet. These were mostly intended purely for decoration and identification.

Collection details

Social History, Toys and Hobbies

advertisement