Ledbury Heritage Centre

Shop icon Visual disability facilities icon Wheelchair access icon

This half-timbered building used to be the grammar school for Ledbury from the sixteenth century through to the early nineteenth. The low beams and smoke bay are typical of the timber-framing style and a small part of the wattle and daub has been uncovered to show this simple but effective method of construction.

Venue Type:

Heritage site, Historic house or home

Opening hours

April to the end of October 1030-1630

Closed: 1st November to 31st March

Admission charges

Free Admission

The displays trace the history and development of Ledbury through photographs, illustrations and a computer slideshow as well as exploring the literary history of the town. John Masefield and Elizabeth Barrett-Browning both lived in this most picturesque of market towns and the fascinating Edna Lyall has connections with the nearby village of Bosbury. The railway and canal are also featured alongside interesting artefacts from the area.

Collection details

Trade and Commerce, Social History, Photography, Natural Sciences, Literature, Land Transport, Architecture, Agriculture

Key artists and exhibits

  • The exploration of Ledbury's development is greatly assisted by copies of the photographs of the Tilley family, who were prominent in Ledbury's commercial life for over one hundred years. The photographs taken for their range of picture postcards now chart the important moments of Ledbury's history. The centre also includes interpretation for the International Geopark of the Malvern Hills and Abberley. This geological conservation area is of national significance.

Ledbury Heritage Centre
Church Lane




Visitor Services Officer



Visitor Services Officer

01432 260692


Heritage Services

01432 342492

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.