Seven Stories, National Centre for Children’s Books

Seven Stories, National Centre for Children’s Books.
baby changing facilities icon Food icon Guided tours icon Shop icon Wheelchair access icon

At the heart of Seven Stories is a treasure trove of original artwork and manuscripts which records the creative process involved in making a children's book and provides an insight into the working lives of authors and illustrators.

Seven Stories is the only place in the UK which is actively collecting original artwork by British writers and illustrators for children. Generous donations of work have been received from many leading figures in the world of children's literature.

Our aim is to make the collection accessible to a wide audience - from school children participating in education programmes and families visiting exhibitions through to researchers from around the world.

Venue Type:

Museum, Archive, Gallery

Opening hours

Closed For Refurbishment Until 19th July 2015

Admission charges

Adult Single: £7.00
Adult Annual: £26.00
Child/Concession Single: £6.00
Child/Concession Annual: £21
Family Single: £19
Family Annual: £60

Exhibition details are listed below, you may need to scroll down to see them all.

A Bear Called Paddington

  • 19 July — 20 October 2015 *on now

Grab your duffle coat and your marmalade sandwiches and discover how Michael Bond’s Paddington Bear has been brought to life by illustrators and animators over the decades. This StoryLab exhibition explores the adventures of everyone’s favourite friendly bear from Darkest Peru.

Suitable for

  • Family friendly

Admission

Normal admission charges apply.

Website

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/whats-on/exhibitions/366/coming-soon-a-bear-called-paddington

Rhyme Around the World

  • 19 July 2015 — 20 September 2016 *on now

This lively & colourful exhibition invites families to step straight into their favourite nursery rhymes and discover new ones from around the world, exploring how stories, song and rhyme are shared across generations and continents. With sensory opportunities and beautiful and varied work by international illustrators, there’s something here for all the family.

Suitable for

  • Family friendly

Admission

Normal admission charges apply.

Website

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/whats-on/exhibitions/365/coming-soon-rhyme-around-the-world

Painting with Rainbows: A Michael Foreman Exhibition

  • 19 July 2015 — 20 June 2016 *on now

Michael Foreman is one of Britain’s best-loved writer-illustrators of children’s books. Through the exhibition we will use Michael's books to ask readers to consider the consequences of conflict, the fragility of our environment and the importance of friendship, empathy and tolerance through his insightful storytelling and beautiful illustrations.

Families are invited to add to the ‘Tree of Hope’ with messages for the future
explore stories of war and peace through War Boy, War Game, The General and Ali Pasha, build and play in a multi-sensory environment inspired by Dinosaurs and All That Rubbish and One World, and be inspired by Michael’s creative process in his artist’s studio with his own personal artefacts.

Suitable for

  • Family friendly

Admission

Normal admission charges apply.

Website

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/whats-on/exhibitions/364/coming-soon-painting-with-rainbows-a-michael-foreman-exhibition

Events details are listed below. You may need to scroll down or click on headers to see them all. For events that don't have a specific date see the 'Resources' tab above.

*Author Event* Trolls with Adam Stower

  • 1 September 2015 1-2pm

Oliver and his best friend Troll run a cafe in the woods. They make the BEST cakes - their troll customers would much rather eat cakes than children! One particularly busy day in the cafe, Oliver's sister Dolly disappears, so Oliver and Troll set off to find her. Their search takes them up Munch Mountain, where the biggest, meanest and grumpiest troll in the world lives.

Oliver doesn't believe all the scary rumours, but Troll's not so sure ...

Join Adam (author of Silly Doggy and Naughty Kitty) as he reads Grumbug – the latest tale from Trolliver’s Café, tricks your eyes with a fun guess-the-drawing game, and creates a completely new troll with your help…

Supported by Templar Publishing

Suitable for

  • Any age

Admission

Booking essential. £7 per child includes a copy of Grumbug and a mini cupcake. One free adult per child. Additional adults £3. Admission to the centre applies.

Website

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/whats-on/events/122049/author-event-trolls-with-adam-stower

An Evening with Sarah Crossan and Jenny McLachlan

  • 17 September 2015 6-7:30pm

Hear how teaching has influenced their writing styles, their career routes into becoming YA authors and why having the right agent is so important. Fans of Sarah and Jenny can ask questions about their work and favourite characters while aspiring authors can find out more about a career in writing for young adults.

Admission

£5 per person, no additional admission fee required. Show your ticket in the Bookshop to redeem £5 off any of Sarah or Jenny’s back catalogue.

Website

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/whats-on/events/122050/an-evening-with-sarah-crossan-and-jenny-mclachlan

An Evening with Patrick Ness

  • 11 November 2015 6-8pm

Hear Patrick talk candidly about his writing process, where he finds inspiration for his dystopian novels and what he thinks the future for the genre holds.
Find out even more about one of the outstanding YA author of this generation at Seven Stories this November. This event will be followed by a Q&A and book signing.

Suitable for

  • 14-15
  • 18+
  • 11-13
  • 16-17

Admission

Booking essential. £15 per person includes a copy of The Rest of Us Just Live Here, posted out to you on the date of publication. Young Adult and Adult .

Website

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/

Resources listed here may include websites, bookable tours and workshops, books, loan boxes and more. You may need to scroll down or click on headers to see them all.

Bookworm Babies

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/events

Bookworm Babies meet at Seven Stories to share the best baby books with their grown ups. Together we explore new ways to play with books, singing, moving about and having lots of fun in a relaxed group. Sessions are suitable for babies until they start to walk. Sessions are in blocks of six and two blocks of six make up a full Bookworm Babies course. Choose between booking for one or two blocks of six sessions. Sessions take place on Thursdays 10.15-11.15.

How to obtain

Bookworm Babies (either one or two blocks of six) must be booked and paid for in advance. Six sessions costs £15 per participating baby and £20 for an adult annual pass. Book online at http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/whats-on/bookworm-babies-6-week-block-booking-tuesday-pm-e1139 or for more information call 0845 2710777 ext 715.

CPD Opportunites at Seven Stories

We provide training and development for all practitioners working with children, including teachers, librarians, Children’s Centre staff, Private Day Nursery teams and childminders. All our training is suffused with our love of and passion for children’s books, our knowledge of classic and unusual titles and our creative approaches to learning. Our in-house programme provides a variety of options for you.
For more information visit www.sevenstories.org.uk/learning/cpd or to discuss your training and development requirements, please contact: Shane Smith, 0845 271 0777 ext. 719
shane.smith@sevenstories.org.uk

Hooks into Books at Seven Stories

Let Seven Stories lead you directly to the books that will stimulate and animate your teaching and, in doing so, motivate and inspire young readers.
If you would like more information on opening a school account, Hooks Into Books or need help with selecting books for your school, fill in the form at http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/shop/books-for-schools. Alternatively, you can speak to a member of the bookshop team by calling 0845 271 0777 Ext 712.

School and Group visits to Seven Stories!

Session times at Seven Stories
Seven Stories school and group visits can be booked Monday - Friday during term time, subject to availability, and last two hours. Sessions are available 10am - 12noon OR 12.30pm - 2.30pm. You can also add a trip to the Bookshop to your visit.
What is involved in a school or group visit?
All visits to Seven Stories are led by a member of the learning team. A facilitated school or group visit lasts for two hours and incorporates a session in one of our galleries; Mr Gumpy and Other Outings - Celebrating 50 Years of John Burningham's Work or There's Nuffin Like a Puffin - Celebrating 70 spectacular years of Puffin Books. Sessions also include a creative workshop

Story Party

http://www.sevenstories.org.uk/events

Story Party has a different theme every week. With beautiful picture books, songs, rhymes, hands-on activities and making time, sessions encourage children aged 0-5 years and their adults to enjoy stories together in an active, fun way and promote a love of books from an early age. Choose from Tuesday 11.00-12.00 or Wednesday 11.00-12.00 every term time week.

How to obtain

Adults can buy an annual pass for £20 which allows unlimited entry to the whole building for 12 months. Story Party costs £2 per child, per session. Children 4+ will also need an annual pass, £15.

Seven Stories, National Centre for Children’s Books
30 Lime Street
Ouseburn Valley
Newcastle & Gateshead
Tyne and Wear
NE1 2PQ
England

Website

www.sevenstories.org.uk

E-mail

General Enquiries

info@sevenstories.org.uk

School Bookings

lisa.moll@sevenstories.org.uk

Collection Infomation

collections@sevenstories.org.uk

Media Enquiries

lauren.regan@sevenstories.org.uk

Events

lorna.duncanson@sevenstories.org.uk

Telephone

0845 271 0777

Fax

0191 276 4302

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.
advertisement