Kirriemuir Gateway to the Glens Museum

Gateway To The Glens Museum

Kirriemuir Gateway to the Glens Museum is situated in Kirriemuir Town House, a building that has been at the heart of Kirriemuir since its construction in 1604. The Museum opened in 2001 after the building was carefully restored and conserved.

Here at Kirriemuir Gateway to the Glens Museum, local people and visitors to the town can discover the unique atmosphere of historic Kirriemuir and the splendour of the Angus Glens. Stepping through the door, visitors experience a vivid introduction to the history, culture and natural environment of ‘Kirrie’ and the western Angus glens, with recordings of local people, computer interactives and permanent displays. Illustrated talks and children’s events complement and develop the variety of temporary displays that take place throughout the year.

On the ground floor we look at the town’s history, including the origins of Kirriemuir’s name and famous Kirriemarians such as J. M. Barrie and rock star Bon Scott. A detailed model transports visitors to the town in 1604, the year the Town House was built. Upstairs the wildlife, geology, history and archaeology of Glen Prosen, Glen Isla, Glen Clova and Glen Doll are explored. A diorama brings visitors face to face with some of the wildlife of the Glens - an eagle glares imperiously from a crag whilst two hares in winter fur leap onto their hind legs to box each other.

Both floors have touch screen computers, which give visitors further access to the story of Kirriemuir and the Glens.

Venue Type:

Museum

Opening hours

Open All Year:
Tue - Sat 10.00-17.00

Admission charges

FREE.

Kirriemuir ‘Weaver’s Banner’ - An anti-corn Law banner (c.1836 - 1852), believed to have been carried by Kirriemuir Weavers during protest marches against the prohibitive Corn Laws. This hand-painted banner is held in the reserve collections of Angus Council. Textile production has a long and vital history in Kirriemuir and Kirriemuir weavers have been recorded as being particularly politically active - there are at least two recorded incidents of direct action by weavers in the town.

Kirriemuir ‘1 - 18’ Pictish stones. - Eighteen finely carved early medieval stone sculptures have been found in Kirriemuir and are now part of the museums collections.
The number of elaborately carved stones found here strongly suggests that Kirriemuir had a sophisticated Christian community in that period. Kirriemuir ‘1 - 17’ are displayed at the Meffan Museum at Forfar while Kirriemuir ‘18’ is on display here in the museum.

Collection details

Social History, Archaeology

Events details are listed below. You may need to scroll down or click on headers to see them all. For events that don't have a specific date see the 'Resources' tab above.

A display of the Peter Pan Book Sculpture

  • 13 May 2016 10am-5pm
  • 14 May 2016 From 10am

It is over 100 years since Sir J. M. Barrie’s character of Peter Pan first appeared in the novel ‘The Little White Bird', the stage play ‘The Boy Who Wouldn't Grow Up’ and the book ‘Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens’ became the first of many more books, plays, films, and works of art which were inspired by the character. One of the creations from the book (literally) is a beautiful Peter Pan Book Sculpture.

Commissioned for Book Week Scotland 2012, by the Scottish Book Trust, the intricate paper sculpture was made by a mystery sculptor whose identity remains a secret, the same sculptor left a series of beautiful and anonymous works of art around Edinburgh in 2011.

The Gateway to the Glens Museum is delighted to have the Peter Pan book sculpture on display in the museum for the month of May, in commemoration of Sir J. M. Barrie, born on the 9th May, 1860 and also to celebrate the museum’s own 15th birthday, having opened on 18th May, 2001. One of five sculptures the Peter Pan book is usually on display at the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh.

Some come along and see this beautifual creation.

Website

http://www.festivalofmuseums.co.uk/peter-pan-book-sculpture-display/

Kirriemuir Gateway to the Glens Museum
The Townhouse
32 High Street
Kirriemuir
Angus
DD8 4BX
Scotland

Website

www.angus.gov.uk/history/museums/kirriemuir/default.htm

E-mail

kirriegateway@angus.gov.uk

Telephone

01575 575479

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.
advertisement