Rushton Triangular Lodge - English Heritage

Rushton Triangular Lodge - English Heritage
Rushton Road
NN14 1RP



01536 710761

All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.

This delightful triangular building was designed by Sir Thomas Tresham (father of one of the Gunpowder Plotters) and constructed between 1593 and 1597. It is a testament to Tresham's Roman Catholicism: the number three, symbolising the Holy Trinity, is apparent everywhere. There are three floors, trefoil windows and three triangular gables on each side.

On the entrance front is the inscription 'Tres Testimonium Dant' ('there are three that give witness'), a Biblical quotation from St John's Gospel referring to the Trinity. It is also a pun on Tresham's name
his wife called him 'Good Tres' in her letters.

Venue Type:

Heritage site, Historic house or home, Sacred space

Opening hours

closed 1 Nov - 31st March

Admission charges



  • English Heritage