Wylam Railway Museum
01661 852 174
or 01661 853 520
Wylam Railway Museum was opened in 1981, the bicentenary of the birth of “The Father of Railways” George Stephenson who was born in Wylam, to commemorate Wylam’s unique contribution to railway history.
The Museum is small, occupying a former classroom in the old village school, now known as the Falcon Centre. The displays focus on the famous local railway pioneers, George Stephenson, William Hedley, Timothy Hackworth and Nicholas Wood and the Wylam Colliery waggonway.
Tues & Thurs 1400-1930
Car and coach parking nearby
Public toilets nearby
Small range of postcards and souvenirs
Exhibits include items of local railwayana, old photographs, posters and models, many collected by local enthusiasts.
Land Transport, Personalities
Key artists and exhibits
- Displays and Exhibits about world famous railway pioneers born locally:
- George Stephenson "The Father of the Railways"
- Timothy Hackworth "The Father of the Locomotive"
- William Hedley, Wylam Colliery Manager, who built the world's oldest preserved locomotives "Puffing Billy" and "Wylam Dilly"